DWI is a highly technical field among law enforcement. Officers are encouraged to obtain NHTSA practitioner certification in Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. The Texas Department of Public Safety must certify Breath Test Technical Operators in order to be able to operate the “Intoxilyzer 5000” in addition to additional training and requirements for Breath Test Technical Supervisors.
It is my firm belief that the intricacies of DWI have surpassed the basic knowledge of a “general practitioner.” That is why the Law Office of Mimi Coffey – an experienced Fort Worth defense lawyer is proud to be dedicated to the focus of DWI and DUI related matters in this pursuit of continued research and training in this ever changing and scientifically explosive field.
A DWI/DUI arrest or charge is unique to Texas in that it is one of the few criminal offenses that involve serious simultaneous civil penalties: that being the administrative driver’s license suspension. It is the practice of the Law Office of Mimi Coffey to inform, educate and provide for all necessary aspects of the DWI representation that the client chooses from, a DWI arrest, DWI charge, the bail bond, ALR hearing, occupational license, plea bargain or jury trial.
Texas DWI Law – Driving While Intoxicated In Texas
The Texas DWI law states that: A first-time DWI arrest or charge in Texas is a “Class B Misdemeanor.” This means it carries a criminal penalty of up to 6 months in the county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Don’t Let A Texas DWI Ruin Your Life
When you’ve been arrested for a DWI in Texas and you think it’s unjust or not fair, then you need a lawyer who knows Texas DWI law inside and out and more importantly, a lawyer who can protect your rights… make sure you’re treated fairly… and who knows how to get results. You’ve just found that lawyer.
Driving While Intoxicated
A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place. “Intoxicated” means not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.
A person commits an offense if the person, by accident or mistake causes serious bodily injury to another while committing one of the above offenses. “Serious bodily injury” means injury that creates a substantial risk of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ. An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
A person’s drivers license may be revoked for many reasons, including DWI, refusal to take a breath test, or failing a breath. Suspensions range from 90 days for failing the breath test to 2 year for second or third DWI offense. You can usually obtain an occupational license, which will allow you to drive for essential household needs. These include driving to and from work, the grocery store, the doctor’s office and school..
Driving While License Invalid
A person commits an offense if the person operates a motor vehicle on a highway after the person’s driver’s license has been canceled.
Automatic License Revocation Hearings
WARNING! YOU HAVE 15 DAYS FROM THE DATE OF ARREST TO REQUEST A HEARING TO SAVE YOUR LICENSE.
Texas has an implied consent law. By obtaining a drivers license recipients have consented to providing a specimen of breath or blood if arrested for DWI . If the recipient refuses to provide a breath or blood specimen or provides a specimen with a score of .08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), then the recipients drivers license is subject to automatic suspension. The recipient may request a hearing to save their licenses. This request must be made within 15 calendar days of notice of such suspension.
Probation Revocation For DWI
A person’s probation can be revoked if the person’s probation officer believes: the person committed an offense that warrants revocation, the person violated terms of probation, the person did not complete education requirements, or the person failed to complete treatment or punishment assigned.